It shall be unlawful for any person granted a private club license by the State of Kansas to sell or serve any alcoholic liquor authorized by such license within the city without first obtaining a local license from the city clerk.
(a) There is hereby levied an annual occupation tax of $100.00 on each license club or drinking establishment located within the corporate limits of the city, as provided by Chapter 41 of the Kansas Statues Annotated and as the licensed club or drinking establishment is defined in Chapter 41 of the Kansas Statues Annotated. Said tax shall be paid to the city clerk before business is begun under an original state license and shall be paid within five days after any renewal of a state license.
(b) A holder of a license for a licensed club or drinking establishment issued by the state director of alcoholic beverage control shall present such license when applying to pay the occupation tax levied herein and the tax shall be received and receipt issued for the period covered by the state license of the city clerk.
(c) Every licensee shall cause the city occupation tax receipt or license to be displayed in plain view next to or below the state license and in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises.
(d) Any person violating this section shall be liable for the penalty as provided in section 3-402.
(Ord.1123; Code 1985)
Any person or organization having a state license as a licensed club or drinking establishment issued by the state director of alcoholic beverage control who shall fail to pay the occupation tax herein levied and within the time prescribed, or who shall violate any other provision of this article, shall upon conviction be fined not more than $100.00 for each day's violation. Nothing contained in this article shall be constituted to prohibit other action by the city for collecting the occupation tax by any procedure authorized by law.
(Ord. 1123; Code 1985)
No license shall be issued to a person whose place of business is located in areas not zoned for such purpose.
(K.S.A. 41-2704; Code 2006)
(a) No club licensed hereunder shall allow the serving, mixing or consumption of alcoholic liquor on its premises between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. on any day.
(b) Cereal malt beverages may be sold on premises licensed for the retail· sale of cereal malt beverages for on-premises consumption at any time when alcoholic liquor is allowed by law to be served on the premises.
(c) No club membership shall be sold to any person under 21 years of age, nor shall alcoholic beverages or cereal malt beverages be given, sold or traded to any person under 21 years of age.
(K.S.A. Supp. 41-2614; Ord. 1319; Code 2006)